The Awards were held on the 9th March 2018
in the Abbey CBGS.

The theme this year was “Homelessness”. 
The ceremony began with a  reflection by the host school led by Mrs Catriona McGrath.


Fr Peter McVerry gave an inspiring talk, drawing on his personal experience,
on various aspects of homelessness.

Each school gave a presentation outlining their work in this and other areas.

The participating schools were

Abbey CBGS and Sacred Heart Grammar School (Newry),

Back: Students of the Abbey CBS and Sacred Heart
Front: Mr Cormac McArt (Westcourt Centre), Fr Peter McVerry (Past Pupil and Speaker),
Dr Muredach Dynan, (Trustee), Mr Roddy Tierney  (Trustee and Abbey Board of Governors),
Mr Micheál Martin (Trustee) and Mr Seán Sloan (Principal)

Omagh CBGS,

and St Mary’s CBGS (Belfast).


 Mr Micheál  Martin (Edmund Rice Schools Trust) congratulated all staff and pupils and awarded trophies to the individual schools.
Well done to all the students and staff.

The school presented a cheque of £1,000 to the Peter McVerry Trust

Sincere thanks to the Abbey CBGS for organising the ceremony and for the
superb welcome and hospitality on the day.